My baby has a yeast infection under his neck...help!

okay momma’s I need some help, my four month old son has a yeast infection under his neck, we have been to the pediatrician three times now, they have prescribed Nystatin in an ointment form that was making it more moist and worse, so after a week we went back in, and they prescribed Nystatin in a baby powder form, it will dry it out almost completely and then from him drooling because he has two teeth poking through it gets red and worse again. I’ve tried everything they’ve prescribed, plus none scented soap, plus rash cream, I mean everything I can think of. I just want him to feel better and for it to be gone. what can I do???

4 Likes

Hi, I’m a nurse, and we use this on bed bound patients with skin folds that get moist and red. I know the price of this one is a bit high, but it was the best example i could find, and this is also the exact one we use. You can cut it down into strips to fit him, and you can place it along with the powder. (If this link doesnt work i will edit my comment)

Interdry Ag 10x36 -Sp https://a.co/d/80RChhR

Ive also found that desitin works well for this problem, though that may give you the same result the nystatin cream did. Either way, you can use the interdry strips in combination with the powder or cream. The doctor may be able to prescribe the interdry, something similar and more cost friendly, or some pharmacies carry these as well though I’m not certain which isle they might be in. We’ve also used a combination of nystatin powder and cream for our patients. You’d put the cream on first and then sprinkle the powder on top. Feel free to private message me, i commented on the facebook as well.

I’m a momma…grand…and great grand mawmaw I always used corn starch keep the area clean and dry

10 Likes

Do you breast feed? Breast milk straight on it at every feeding is very helpful.

1 Like