What should I do about my daycare childs behavior?

I watch kids for a living so that I can be home with my littles until they go off to school. We’ll I started watching a one year old girl a couple months ago. She is consistently whining. If I’m not right next to her she’s not happy. She fights me to go outside because I play and interact with the other kiddos and she doesn’t like it. If I’m not giving my full attention to her outside she will sit by my feet or hang out by me. Which is fine, but I do want the kids to interact with eachother. Playing together and learning how to share are good learning skills for little ones who need it. The kids I watch are all on the same schedule. They eat and go down at the same time. They all take a good 2 hour nap because we are so active outside. We’ll I’ll put her down and she will sleep maybe an hour. Which is fine, but she will scream until all the kids are up. I try to talk with her parents but they just say “she doesn’t do that at home.” She is an only child, but I do watch other only children and they aren’t like this. I guess my question here is when would you say enough is enough? I’m due to have a baby in December and I’m only planning to take 4-6weeks off. I’m just not sure if I could handle that behavior with a newborn. Not every child is perfect I completely understand it and I have a lot of patience. I just figured after being here a couple of months she would get used to the routine, but the other kids don’t want to play or be around her because of how she is. They will all play together and won’t interact with her. I’ve tried for them all to and it just doesn’t work.

118 Likes

Help a mama out and respond anonymously on our forum. What should I do about my daycare childs behavior?

All kids are different

8 Likes

she is only only one a lot of one year olds do this

14 Likes