Thoughts on home daycares?

I’m considering putting my child into an in-home daycare for more attention. He isn’t doing well in the daycare he is in now. Any thoughts?

5 Likes

My boys were both in home daycares oldest till he was 5 youngest until we moved where we didn’t know anyone. It worked out well for us and the care givers we were lucky to find still love our boys and are apart of our lives to this day and my oldest is 17 youngest is 7.

Grannie care is the best and should help bpth

1 Like

If you find a good one they are amazing. Unfortunately there are plenty of not-good ones. Make sure they are licensed, insured, you are comfortable with the home and neighborhood, and of course any other family that may be in the home while your kids are there. My boys have been going to the same in-home daycare since my oldest was 6 weeks old. They are family to us.

1 Like

My daughter is in an inhome and I work in a school setting daycare. I personally like both but my daughter LOVES HERS . She even calls her daycare lady grandma instead of by her name . She loves her . Just like I have kids that hug me at my daycare and say they love me ( and I love my students) its about finding a good one though and one that fits with you

I’ve always preferred in home. I have had 2 different ones that have been great.
Only reason I left was due to moving or distance to new jobs.
I am sure there are those that are bad. Follow your instinct, if you visit a home and it makes you uncomfortable don’t take the chance!
But I’ve also had a good experience with public daycare as well.

Unfortunately a lot of in homes don’t follow licensing rules as closely as they should there also is no accountability because you usually have one maybe two people there. So if something happens you’ll be hard pressed to get the truth out of them. Maybe look for a center with a smaller class size?