My Boyfriend Demands I Do All the Cleaning After Work

This question was submitted to our community via our Facebook page and/or our Answers forum. Responses are also taken from the community. If you have your own parenting or relationship question you would like answers to, submit on Facebook or Answers.

QUESTION:

"I’m a 50 year old woman , I work in healthcare , I work with mentally challenged people I work 230pm-12am 5 days a week sometimes I also work on a Saturday from 2-10pm … I work 40 minutes from my house so I drive that back and forth daily… I leave my house at 130pm and I don’t get back home until around 1 am … I live with my bf of 2 years , it’s his house and he makes sure I know that . He’s on disability makes around 850 a month , so he’s home every day , he does not clean up after himself or clean the house and he throws the mail down and trash on the floor around his recliner, we’ve had a issue with mice in the house , they pretty much took the kitchen over they been in the cabinets and counter tops and there’s droppings in such , I’ve asked the bf to clean all that up but has not so there fore I do not eat there I don’t dirty any dishes up and I also clean up after myself … the bf expects me to clean sweep cook dust the house and help with the outside work , I’m only off 1 or 2 days aweek , I’m tired I don’t feel like doing anything but he demands that I do all this even when I work and he does absolutely nothing but sleep all day and sit in his chair … I also give him 400 a month to live there and buy my own groceries, he receives food stamps as well but I buy my own stuff … when we go out to eat or do anything I pay for it all , he never does , says he doesn’t have money but I give him 400 a month and he doesn’t have a house payment just utilities, I feel like he’s in the wrong to demand that I do all this to the house and on the outside , am I wrong?"

RELATED: Husband Asks If He’s In the Wrong for Refusing to Clean Because He’s a Lawyer