Is $250 a week too much to ask for babysitting?

Is 250 a week too much to ask for babysitting a child under 1? A little over 40 hours a week. 8 to 5.

6 Likes

Absolutely. That’s ridiculous.

5 Likes

Yes. I am a nurse, had a babysitter that babysat 6am to 8:30pm some days and everother wkend, i pd $200 a wk

1 Like

That’s not bad at all because usually it’s 300 or a lil more

1 Like

I think it depends where you are and what all you are providing… when I ran daycare I charged 40$ /day. I provided all meals and my hours were 7-5, and I provided receipts.

Now that I’m back to work and paying for daycare I’m paying roughly 450/month for my 2 yr old and roughly 380-400/ month for my 4yr old.

I actually think it’s reasonable… maybe I’m crazy. I babysit full time from home and charge 25$ a day perk kid with the goal in mind I’m helping parents that are struggling and can’t afford an average daycare, while they are helping me. Keep in mind you are competing with other babysitters in your area as well as daycares. Charge more affordable and they will come to you. Average daycares in my area charge at least 900-1000 per month and only have limited times (7-3 etc) if you charge more they might as well enroll there kiddos in daycare. For some of the families that struggle on minimum wage they’d be working to give away they’re whole check to you. It really just goes with what you feel is right and how bad you need a little cash flow.

8 Likes

Yes way to much average is $30-40 day

4 Likes

Where do y’all love that a babysitter makes $10-15/hr? Washington minimum wage is the highest at $15.74 so what’s a single mom in that state supposed to do if all the sitters (probably not even qualified or trained beyond having their own kids) charge $15 an hour? Do any of you that is suggesting she charge $10-15 an hour realize how ridiculous that rate is for 1 child? Babysitting ISN’T a minimum wage job unless you have more than 1 client.