I am afraid to take maternity leave due to what happened last time I did: Advice?

I’ve been working for the same small company since 2012. In 2019 when I had my second child, I took the Paid Family Leave Act for NY while I was out on maternity. When I went to return to work my boss would not give me my full job back. I did two separate jobs for him with two separate payments. He told me he gave one of my jobs to someone else and felt bad taking it away from them, so it was no longer available (I was doing two jobs for a few years before I took maternity). So I said if I cannot get my entire job back as it was that I wasn’t able to come back. I then took unemployment for a few months until I found a new job. After a couple of months at this new job, my old boss asked me to come back. He only offered me the one job back and not both, but it was more money than I was currently making but a lot less than having both jobs for him in the past. I took it and went back to him. Fast forward, I am pregnant again now and due in the fall. I am absolutely miserable working at this company as he has taken away holidays, our profit-sharing program, and has promised me a raise for years and every excuse not to give it to me. I’m extremely underpaid and make less than newer employees who have the same title. He completely takes advantage of me. I’m nervous about going on maternity again even though this time I only do one job for him now. He was wondering how I should handle the situation? Part of me wants to file a case about what he did to me last time, but I guess that’s so far behind me, and it wouldn’t work out anyways. How should I handle my maternity this time around? (The only reason I work for him is that he offered me to work half in the office and half at home, and I have 2 young children. He uses the fact that I work part-time from home to treat me badly).

118 Likes

You’re having a baby either way
Sooooo have the baby… take paid leave and deal with what happens!